The BJP has retained all three municipal corporations in Delhi. The only contest today was between Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party and the Congress. AAP gets number 2 position with the Congress third in all the municipalities. The Congress’ Delhi chief Ajay Maken has resigned, while AAP has alleged that there was EVM’s issue which led this happen. BJP chief Amit Shah credited Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s governance for the victory and said, “The people of Delhi have rejected negative politics, the politics of excuses.”


Read latest 10 developments in this story


  1. The BJP is set to win 64 of 104 wards in MCD North, 70 of 104 in MCD South and 49 of 64 in MCD East till the halfway. Overall, out of a total 272 wards, the BJP looks to win over 183 wards, with AAP winning 44 and the Congress 32.
  2. In each municipality BJP performed better than last time, up seven wards in MCD North, 12 wards in MCD South and 14 in MCD East. The MCD was split into three municipalities in 2012.
  3. BJP had sought to eliminate all chances of an anti-incumbency sentiment by dropping its sitting councilors and picking new candidates in 267 wards of the total 272 wards. The municipalities will be full of new faces.
  4. BJP’s Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari said “The people of Delhi have exercised their right to recall”, hitting out at Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. “We are sad that the Chief Minister is threatening and cursing its (Delhi) people, we condemn that. I am happy people of Delhi have rejected such people,” added Mr Tiwari.
  5. “This is an EVM wave not a Modi wave” said AAP’s Delhi minister Gopal Rai, alleging that EVMs were rigged to help the BJP win the MCD elections. Delhi’s Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said, “BJP’s win was impossible without EVM tampering.”
  6. The BJP has called AAP a poor loser and said Kejriwal a “Drama Queen”. “Kejriwal thought he would become PM after becoming CM of Delhi. He is losing the election just because of his aggression,” said the BJP’s Sambit Patra.
  7. For AAP, today’s loss means a political wipe-out. Already reeling from humiliating losses in the Punjab and Goa assembly elections last month.
  8. The Congress had hoped today’s results would herald a political revival in Delhi for the party, which did not win a single seat in the Delhi assembly elections in 2015 or a parliament seat the year before.
  9. Ajay Maken said he was quitting as the Congress’ Delhi chief and would not hold any party post for a year. He said the Congress was the day’s big gainer on vote share, but he had expected to do better.
  10. The MCD elections is an important addition to the BJP’s list of victories this year in state and local polls across the country. The party has dominated the MCD for a decade and conducted a big campaign to retain control, still smarting at being reduced to just three seats in the Delhi assembly in 2015, as AAP swept 67 of the 70 seats. In the 2014 national election, the BJP had won all seven of Delhi’s parliament seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.