PM Narendra Modi attended oath ceremony of Rawat along with other senior BJP leaders in Dehradun.

Governor KK Paul administered the oath. The BJP won 57 seats in the 70-member Assembly.

Rawat defeated Hira Singh Bisht of Congress with a margin of over 24,000 votes. This was his third win from the constituency since 2002.

“My own belief is that people in the state want opportunities that will help them grow. Therefore, our focus is going to be on development of the hills as well as the plains by providing suitable opportunities for people,” said Rawat.

Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Madan Kaushik, Arvind Pandey, Subodh Uniyal, Yashpal Arya and Prakash Pant were also sworn in. They will be made state Cabinet ministers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.